Pelosi names 9 Democrats to argue case against Trump in Senate

Nancy Pelosi Calls on Mike Pence to Remove Donald Trump From Office. Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi has called on Vice President Mike Pence to invoke the 25th Amendment and remove President Donald Trump from office. The 25th Amendment would allow Pence and the Cabinet to declare Trump “unable to discharge the powers and duties of his office.”. Doing so would cause Pence to “immediately assume the powers and duties” of the presidency. . Pelosi and many other officials blame Trump for the attempted coup that took place on Wednesday. . She called his incitement of violence an “unspeakable assault” on the United States. This is urgent, this is an emergency of the highest magnitude … The president of the United States incited an armed insurrection against America … In calling for this seditious act, the president has committed an unspeakable assault on our nation and our people, Nancy Pelosi, via 'The New York Times'. She went on to describe the chaos at the Capitol as a day of “horrors” that would “forever stain” history. .  We are in a very difficult place in our country as long as Donald Trump sits in the White House … while there’s only 13 days left, any day can be a horror show for America, Nancy Pelosi, via 'The Wall Street Journal'

Managers from Trump’s first impeachment trial will not serve this time around

Speaker Nancy Pelosi has named nine fellow House Democrats to serve as managers of the impeachment article condemning President Donald Trump for incitement of insurrection who will argue the case when it is sent to the Senate for trial.

Trump’s first impeachment trial in early 2020, in which he was acquitted, featured only seven Democratic managers for two articles of impeachment charging abuse of power and obstruction of Congress.

None of the previous managers were picked this time.

A second push for Trump’s ouster began after the riot at the U.S. Capitol one week ago incited by false claims that widespread voter fraud got Joe Biden elected and cheated the incumbent out of a second term.

Trump summoned his supporters to a Jan. 6 “stop the steal” rally in Washington, where the crowd turned to riot and violently stormed the Capitol in an attempt to overthrow a joint session of Congress voting to confirm Biden’s Electoral College victory. The ballots reportedly had to be rushed out of Senate chambers to be saved from the angry mob. Five people died during the insurrection, and dozens of arrests are underway nationwide for those who participated in the attack.

Pelosi made the announcement of the House managers about two weeks ago, saying: “Tonight, I have the solemn privilege of naming the Managers of the impeachment trial of Donald Trump. It is their constitutional and patriotic duty to present the case for the President’s impeachment and removal. They will do so guided by their great love of country, determination to protect our democracy and loyalty to our oath to the Constitution. Our Managers will honor their duty to defend democracy For The People with great solemnity, prayerfulness and urgency.”

Maryland Congressman Jamie Raskin — an attorney who sits on several committees including Oversight and Reform, Judiciary, Rules and House Administration — was named the lead manager of the case.

Before arriving on Capitol Hill in 2017, Raskin served three terms as a state senator in Maryland and worked as a constitutional law professor at American University’s Washington College of Law for more than 25 years.

The other Democratic House impeachment managers named were:

Rep. Diana DeGette, D-Colorado; Rep. David Cicilline, D-Rhode Island; Rep. Joaquin Castro, D-Texas; Rep. Eric Swalwell, D-California; Rep. Ted Lieu, D-California; Rep. Stacey Plaskett, D-U.S. Virgin Islands; Rep. Joe Neguse, D-Colorado; and Rep. Madeleine Dean, D-Pennsylvania.

In Other News