What are sanctuary cities? Here's a list of sanctuary cities, counties, states

President Donald Trump has ordered cuts in federal grants for cities that offer safe harbor for undocumented immigrants.

Called “sanctuary cities,” each could lose millions in federal grant dollars once the order takes effect.

What are sanctuary cities? They are cities and counties (and in some instances, states) that have policies in place that limit cooperation with U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement.

More than 200 jurisdictions refused requests from the federal government to detain individuals for possible deportation from the country. According to CNN, ICE Director Sarah Saldaña testified before Congress, saying some groups refused ICE agents access to jails and prisons.

For the most up-to-date list of sanctuary cities, please click here

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Most read

  1. 1 R. Kelly’s ex-wife says he is still financially abusing her
  2. 2 Suspect dead after officer-involved shooting in SW Atlanta near I-20
  3. 3 Super wolf blood moon: A viewing guide for coolest sounding eclipse

You may also like:  

The Associated Press contributed to this article.

Editor's Note: Due to information provided, a previous version of this story indicated that Butler and Westmoreland counties in Pennsylvania; Ocean City in New Jersey; Hamden County, CT; and Clayton County, GA, are sanctuary cities or counties. We have updated our story to include the source link.

More from AJC