Best in Class for Nov. 30

Jacob Tzegaegbe and Kenneth Hoehn are winners of the prestigious Marshall Scholarship, which gives graduate students an opportunity to study in the United Kingdom. The Georgia students are among 34 winners selected nationally for the honor. Jacob, a graduate of Gwinnett’s Shiloh High School, is a 2011 graduate of Georgia Tech who holds a B.S. in Civil Engineering. In May, he will complete his M.S. in Civil Engineering. He plans to pursue postgraduate level planning studies at University College London. Kenneth is a graduate of Creekview High School in Cherokee County. He is currently a biology major at Duke University. He plans to pursue evolutionary genomics research at the University of Oxford or the University of Edinburgh.


Kimberly Horn, a business administrative technology student, is the winner of Gwinnett Technical College’s 2013 Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership. The Technical College System of Georgia sponsors the GOAL program to recognize outstanding technical college students who have excelled in academics and leadership. Local GOAL winners are selected at each of the state’s 26 technical colleges. Horn, of Lawrenceville, was nominated by Sue VanLanen, business administrative technology program director. Horn is a student ambassador, vice president of the GTC Student Leadership Council and president of the campus Toastmasters Club. She was the 2012 Outstanding Student for the Business Administrative Technology program.


The media centers at two Gwinnett schools have been recognized by the Georgia Department of Education’s 11th annual Exemplary/Exceptional Library Media Program. Knight Elementary School was named an exemplary media program and Duluth High School’s media center was honored as an exceptional media program. The awards recognize the centers for providing outstanding services and support to students and staff. Media specialists Susie Fancher and Meg Reed and media clerk Doreen Heyburn were honored for their work at Knight Elementary. Media specialist Marsha Hunter and media clerk Vivian Kelly-Bateman were recognized for their work at Duluth High.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.