Photo: Getty Images
Photo: Getty Images

List: Longest-tenured coaches in Class AA

Heard County had reached the playoffs in 16 of head coach Tim Barron's 17 seasons before breaking through with the school's first state championship in 2018. That's a long wait, but he's in good company. Conrad Nix won his first state title in 1997 after 21 seasons at Northside of Warner Robins. Dan Pitts won his first in 1980 after 22 seasons at Mary Persons. Gerry Romberg won his first in 2015 after 25 seasons at Westminster. That's encouraging news to J.B. Arnold, Class AA's longest-tenured coach, who has led Jefferson County to five region titles and 17 consecutive playoff appearances but is still seeking the biggest prize.

19 - J.B. Arnold, Jefferson Co. 

18 - Roger Holmes, Dublin 

18 - Tim Barron, Heard County 

15 - Pete Wiggins, Callaway 

14 - Joel Ingram, Washington County 

13 - Lee Chomskis, Vidalia 

12 - Maurice Freeman, Brooks County 

12 - Brian Allison, Union County 

9 - Joshua Moore, B.E.S.T. Academy 

9 - Winston Gordon, Hapeville Charter 

8 - Myron Newton, Butler 

8 - Rodney Cofield, Douglass 

8 - Ron Duncan, Screven Co. 

7 - Todd Wheeler, Coosa 

7 - Joe Dupree, Southwest 

6 - Charles Hammon, Chattooga 

6 - Chad Estes, Social Circle 

5 - Todd Booker, Harlem 

5 - William Harrell, Hephzibah 

5 - Rick Hurst, Pepperell 

5 - Derrick Avery, Washington 

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

About the Author