Lincoln County coach Larry Campbell, shown during the first half of a Class A semifinal against Johnson County at the Georgia Dome on Nov. 25, 2005. (Brant Sanderlin/AJC)
Photo: Brant Sanderlin
Photo: Brant Sanderlin

List: Coaches with at least five state championships

Jonathan Gess of Eagle's Landing Christian and Jim Dickerson of Clinch County won their fifth state championships as head coaches last season, both in Class A. Here are Georgia coaches who have won at least five state titles in all associations. 

14 - Wright Bazemore (Valdosta) 

11 - Larry Campbell (Lincoln County) 

11 - Barney Hester (Tattnall Square) 

9 - Shorty Doyal (Boys) 

7 - Nick Hyder (Valdosta) 

7 - Jess Simpson (Buford) 

6 - Michael Thompson (Memorial Day) 

5 - Charlie Grisham (Carrollton)

5 - Jeff Herron (Oconee County, Camden County, Grayson) 

5 - Ed Pilcher (Thomas County Central) 

5 - Bill Murdock (Southwest Georgia Academy, Terrell Academy) 

5 - Jim Dickerson (Clinch County) 

5 - Bubba Attwood (Savannah Christian) 

5 - Jonathan Gess (ELCA) 

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

About the Author