A common complaint about scooters is that they block sidewalks or crowd out pedestrians. California and Oregon are the only states that prohibit the operation of scooters on sidewalks – though other states authorize local governments to approve such bans.
Tennessee allows scooters to operate on sidewalks only when the electric motor is disengaged and only where the local government allows bicycles on sidewalks. And Utah authorizes local governments to set a maximum speed for scooters operating on sidewalks.
In addition to such rules of the road, a few states impose age limits or other qualifications to operate e-scooters. Utah prohibits children under 8 from using them. The minimum age is 16 in Washington, though local governments can set it lower.
California and Louisiana require riders under 18 and 17, respectively, to wear helmets. Oregon is the only state that requires all users to wear helmets, imposing a $25 fine for violations.
California is the only state to require riders to possess a valid driver’s license.
The states vary in how they approach local regulations. Seven states – including neighboring Alabama – allow local governments to ban dockless scooters altogether. Five others prohibit local governments from imposing scooter regulations more restrictive than bicycle regulations. Nearly all the states that have adopted regulations allow local governments to prohibit the use of scooters on sidewalks.
You can read the full presentation on other states' laws here (PDF file).
It's unclear what regulations, if any, Georgia might adopt in the upcoming legislative session. A pending House bill would prohibit people from parking them on sidewalks and other locations that could hinder vehicles or pedestrians. It would allow people to ride them on bike paths, in bike lanes and on roads with a speed limit of 35 mph or less, if no bike lane or path is available.
The Senate study committee is expected to report its recommendations by December. You can read more about its work here.