Burrow, LSU dominate College Football Awards show in Atlanta

LSU quarterback Joe Burrow at the College Football Awards show.

LSU quarterback Joe Burrow at the College Football Awards show.

LSU’s Joe Burrow claimed three major prizes at the College Football Awards show in Atlanta on Thursday night: the Maxwell Award as the national player of the year, the Davey O’Brien Award as the nation’s top quarterback and the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award.

He collected the trophies at the College Football Awards show held at the College Football Hall of Fame. He’s the favorite to win an even bigger prize Saturday in New York, the Heisman Trophy.

Two of Burrow’s LSU teammates also collected awards Thursday night: Ja’Marr Chase won the Biletnikoff Award as college football’s top receiver, and Grant Delpit won the Jim Thorpe Award as best defensive back.

LSU coach Ed Orgeron brought the Tigers’ awards total for the night to six, claiming the Home Depot Coach of the Year Award.

“It was a clean sweep,” Burrow said proudly.

“It’s a good night for us,” Chase said. “We’re going to have to forget about this within the next 48 hours and go back to work, to be honest.”

Undefeated and No. 1-ranked LSU will play Oklahoma in a College Football Playoff semifinal in the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl at Atlanta’s Mercedes-Benz Stadium on Dec. 28.  LSU defeated Georgia for the SEC championship in the same stadium last Saturday.

Among other awards presented Thursday night, Georgia's Rodrigo Blankenship won the Lou Groza Award as the nation's top placekicker, Ohio State's Chase Young won the Bednarik Award as defensive player of the year, Wisconsin's Jonathan Taylor won the Doak Walker Award as best running back, Oregon's Penei Sewell won the Outland Trophy as best interior lineman, and Kentucky's Max Duffy won the Ray Guy Award as best punter.

Minnesota backup holder Casey O’Brien, who has overcome four bouts with cancer, received the Disney Spirit Award. Former Georgia great Herschel Walker received the NCFAA Contributions to College Football Award.

About the Author