US Dept. of Education: 12 Ga. schools are National Blue Ribbon Schools

The U.S. Department of Education has named 13 Georgia schools as National Blue Ribbon Schools, recognized for overall excellence.

Most of the schools are from the metro Atlanta area, with nine total public schools listed. All are awarded for high performance.

Three elementary schools recognized are Fulton County Schools: Heards Ferry Elementary, Lake Windward Elementary and Shakerag Elementary.

“This honor affirms the hard work of our teachers, staff, students and parents, all of whom deserve credit for motivating and encouraging students to perform at their highest level,” Fulton County Schools Superintendent Jeff Rose said. “It takes an entire community, including a dedicated school board, to earn this coveted award. These are exciting times for our schools and our district.”

Two of the schools, Kittredge Magnet and Austin Elementary School, are DeKalb County School District schools.

A Gwinnett County Public School, Simpson Elementary School in Peachtree Corners, was recognized.

One school, Settles Bridge Elementary School in Suwanee, is from the Forsyth County Schools district.

Also recognized was Britt David Elementary Computer magnet Academy in Columbus.

Private schools recognized are Christ the King School in Atlanta, Holy Redeemer Catholic School in Johns Creek, Mount Bethel Christian Academy in Marietta and Saint James Catholic School in Savannah.