DeKalb County Board of Education member Melvin Johnson gives remarks at Cross Keys High School following DeKalb's Education Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax passage in 2016. Johnson won's seek re-election to the board after four years. KENT D. JOHNSON/
Photo: Kent Johnson
Photo: Kent Johnson

DeKalb school board will add two new members

Two DeKalb Board of Education members are calling it quits.

Melvin Johnson, elected in 2012 to represent the sixth district, did not qualify to run for re-election in the May 22 General Election. Johnson had been board chairman the previous four years, and was replaced by Michael Erwin in January.

James “Jim” McMahan, who currently serves the fourth district, also did not qualify for re-election. 

Dijon “Twin” Dacosta and Lance Lawyer Hammonds are vying for Johnson’s seat, while parent advocate Allyson Gevertz is running unopposed for McMahan’s seat. Board vice chairman Marshall Orson, the only incumbent seeking re-election this cycle, will face off against Decatur resident Candace McKinley.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.