Heyward chosen best defensive player by Wilson

The fielding awards keep coming for Braves right fielder Jason Heyward, who was selected as the overall Wilson Defensive Player of the Year on Wednesday.

After Heyward and Braves shortstop Andrelton Simmons won Wilson awards as the best in baseball at their respective positions, Heyward beat out Simmons and the other seven positional winners for the overall award.

The honors came one day after Heyward and Simmons won National League Gold Gloves and were named finalists for the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award for the NL’s best overall defender, which will be announced Friday. Simmons won the NL Platinum Glove in 2013.

The Wilson awards were selected by MLB Network using statistical analysis including Defensive Runs Saved and Defensive WAR. Heyward led all major leaguers in DRS with 32, while Simmons (28) tied Mets Gold Glove center fielder Juan Lagares for second in that category after Simmons led with 41 in 2013.

Last week, Simmons and Heyward won Fielding Bible Awards as the majors’ best defensive players at their respective positions.

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Most read

  1. 1 Cutting carbs instead of calories keeps weight off, study says
  2. 2 Robber shoots gas station clerk before demanding cash, witnesses say
  3. 3 Georgia leaders try to stem Hollywood revolt after Kemp’s win

More from AJC