Many metro Atlanta schools singled out for excellence

Metro Atlanta schools accounted for more than half of those singled out by the Georgia Department of Education through the 2012 Schools of Excellence program.

Schools from Gwinnett, Decatur City, Fulton, Marietta City, Clayton, Fayette, DeKalb, Atlanta Public Schools, Cobb and Forsyth were among the 28 honored for strong academic performance and for making strong academic progress.

Each school will receive a $1,000 check from Georgia Natural Gas.

Seven metro Atlanta schools — R.D. Head Elementary, Mulberry Elementary and Harris Elementary in Gwinnett, Oakhurst Elementary in Decatur City, Hembree Springs Elementary in Fulton, Marietta Center for Advanced Academics in Marietta City and Elite Scholars Academy in Clayton — were honored for strong academic performance.

Another eight metro Atlanta schools — McIntosh High in Fayette, DeKalb Early College Academy in DeKalb, Kipp Strive Academy in APS, Garrison Mill Elementary, Kennesaw Charter and King Springs Elementary in Cobb, Big Creek Elementary in Forsyth and Frank N. Osborne Middle in Gwinnett — were honored for making strong academic progress.