Latest News

Breaking news from the Atlanta Journal-Constitution

New Fulton County Commission sworn in

The new Fulton County Board of Commissioners was inaugurated Wednesday, marking a new era in county politics.

The seven commissioners took their oaths of office at a ceremony before their regular meeting. Three new commissioners – Democrat Marvin Arrington Jr. and Republicans Bob Ellis and Lee Morris – took their place beside four incumbents. It’s the biggest turnover on the commission in a generation.

As the AJC reported recently, Fulton County remains divided along partisan, geographic and racial lines. Democrats still control the commission, but Republicans gained a third seat and more influence.

On Wednesday commissioners pledged to work together to solve pressing budget and other problems.

”For far too long we have let difference divide us,” Chairman John Eaves said at the inauguration. “We all love the county and its people.”

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Most read

  1. 1 Ramen noodle heist Georgia: Fayette County ramen noodle robbery
  2. 2 Two inmates use drain pipe to escape from Georgia jail, officials say
  3. 3 Tybee Island drowning victims were active in Atlanta’s music scene

About the Author

David Wickert covers transportation issues for the Enterprise team. He joined the AJC in 2010 and has also covered local government in Gwinnett and Fulton counties.

More from AJC