World Series winners since Atlanta's 1995 title

13 teams have won World Series since Braves in ’95

In the two-plus decades since the Atlanta Braves hoisted the World Series trophy, 13 teams have shared that joy.

The list of winners includes the Yankees, Marlins (of Florida, not Miami), Diamondbacks, Angels, Red Sox, White Sox, Cardinals, Phillies, Giants, Royals, Cubs, Astros and Nationals. 

Three of those champions have come from the Braves’ own division, including the Nationals in 2019.

Five of the teams have won 16 of those years.

The Yankees added five to their vast trophy case. Boston finally shed the ghosts of its pasts to win four. San Francisco collected three championships over five years. The Cardinals repeated five years apart. The Cubs, Phillies, Royals and White Sox returned to glory after decades of futility. And the Angels, Astros (as an American League team) and Nationals won their first. 

Houston, which fell short against Washington in seven games in 2019, is the 4-1 favorite to win the title in 2020, according to the Caesars Sportsbook. The other contenders include the  Los Angeles Dodgers and New York Yankees at 5-1; and Red Sox and Braves are each 10-1. The Nationals are 14-1 favorites to repeat.

Past World Series winners:

1995: Atlanta Braves 
1996: N.Y. Yankees 
1997: Florida Marlins 
1998: N.Y. Yankees 
1999: N.Y. Yankees 
2000: N.Y. Yankees 
2001: Arizona Diamondbacks 
2002: Anaheim Angels 
2003: Florida Marlins 
2004: Boston Red Sox 
2005: Chicago White Sox 
2006: St. Louis Cardinals 
2007: Boston Red Sox 
2008: Philadelphia Phillies 
2009: N.Y. Yankees 
2010: San Francisco Giants 
2011: St. Louis Cardinals 
2012: San Francisco Giants 
2013: Boxton Red Sox 
2014: San Francisco Giants 
2015: Kansas City Royals 
2016: Chicago Cubs 
2017: Houston Astros 
2018: Boston Red Sox 
2019: Washington Nationals

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.