Fred McGriff was known as the "Crime Dog"

Fred McGriff on Hall of Fame ballot for final time

Career saves leader Mariano Rivera and late pitcher Roy Halladay are among 20 new candidates on the Hall of Fame ballot for the Baseball Writers’ Association of America, joined by 15 holdovers that include Fred McGriff.

Former Atlanta Braves right-handers Derek Lowe and Freddy Garcia, left-hander Andy Pettitte and infielders Todd Helton, Michael Young and Miguel Tejada are among the newcomers on the ballot announced Monday. Additional newcomers on this year’s ballot include infielder Placido Polanco and outfielder Rick Ankiel, who briefly played with the Braves.

Players remain on the ballot for up to 10 years, provided they receive at least 5 percent of the vote annually. Edgar Martinez (70.4 percent last year) and former Braves first baseman McGriff (23.2 percent last year) are on the BBWAA ballot for the final time.

Among the holdovers are three former Braves — reliever Billy Wagner, outfielders Andruw Jones and Gary Sheffield. Also returning to the ballot are second baseman Jeff Kent, shortstop Omar Vizquel, third baseman Scott Rolen and outfielders Barry Bonds, Manny Ramirez, Sammy Sosa and Larry Walker.

More than 400 ballots are being sent to eligible voters from the BBWAA, and a player must receive at least 75 percent for election. Ballots are due by Dec. 31 and results will be announced Jan. 22. Voters must have been members of the BBWAA for 10 consecutive years.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.