SCHOOL TRAFFIC STARTS AGAIN--August 8, 2014 Smyrna,GA Buses leaving Nickajack Elementary School in Cobb County travel on South Cobb Drive. GDOT data show surface street traffic volume increases by about 14 percent when kids return to school. BRANT SANDERLIN /BSANDERLIN@AJC.COM

The end of summer break: here’s when metro schools re-open

For working parents and just about any commuter, summer can be a lovely thing.

A break from the rigid schedule of pickups and dropoffs at school. A break for family vacations. A (slight) break from gridlock on metro Atlanta’s notorious thoroughfares.

Well, that break is about to end.

Most metro districts return to school by early August, starting with Cobb County on July 31. 

Major road arteries should return to rush hour red on Internet maps by Aug. 7, when some of the biggest districts, including Gwinnett County, re-open their doors.

MORE: Yes, the first day of school really does come earlier every year

By then, school buses and the parents of well over 700,000 students will have resumed their normal driving routines.

As you savor these last weeks of summer bliss (air conditioning assumed), here’s a convenient list of the back-to-school dates for 17 metro districts.

(Click the links to see more 2017-18 calendar details for each school district.)

Atlanta: Aug. 1

Buford: Aug. 3

Clayton County: Aug. 7

Cobb County: July 31

Cherokee County: Aug. 1

Coweta County: Aug. 4

Decatur: Aug. 1

DeKalb County: Aug. 7

Douglas County: Aug. 7

Fayette County: Aug. 7

Forsyth County: Aug. 3

Fulton County: Aug. 7

Gwinnett County: Aug. 7

Henry County: July 31

Marietta: Aug. 3

Newton County: July 28

Rockdale County: July 31

Louisiana School Board Bans Popular Fidget Spinners

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism. Atlanta. News. Now.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism. Atlanta. News. Now.