Pair gets prison for stealing guns at 50 metro Atlanta fire stations

Lawrenceville duo will do prison time after breaking into more than 200 vehicles through metro Atlanta, many belonging to firefighters.

Ayana Dayshina Forest, 22, and Elisha Howard Ross, 26, had law enforcement agencies from 17 counties on their trail of break-ins and thefts between January and June.

Prosecutors in a news release announcing their guilty pleas laid out their process: Forest would drop Ross off near a fire station at night. He’d smash the car windows with a tool then search the glove compartments. Then Forest would circle back and pick him up.

Police said they hit cars in nearly two dozen jurisdictions, including: Smyrna, Powder Springs, Acworth, Alpharetta and Roswell along with Cobb, GwinnettForsyth, Paulding and Clayton counties.

They hit 52 fire stations, an ambulance service and the headquarters of Glock in Smyrna in addition to vehicles parked at 11 homes near an Acworth fire station.

In all, they nicked 59 guns from vehicles, most of which were sold on the street.

Two of the stolen guns were found when police arrested the pair, prosecutors said. Another gun was found at the scene of a DeKalb County shooting.

READCobb cops seek man who walked out of Walmart with a full cart

Forest and Ross also nabbed cash, headphones, laptops and other valuables.

At the July 31 news conference when they were arrested, Cobb fire’s deputy chief Bill Johnson said his firefighters were spooked to have their personal vehicles targeted.

“It’s very discouraging. They’re out doing their job, serving the citizens and protecting them the best they can, only to find out and get back from a call and wake up in the morning, and their cars have been broken into and personal belongings stolen,” he said.

The pair was indicted in October.

On Wednesday, Cobb superior judge Kimberly Childs sentenced Forest to seven years in prison and eight years probation.

READScam alert: Cobb officials warn of a new utility fraud scheme

Childs sentenced Ross on Jan. 23 to 10 years in prison and another decade of probation.

They were also each ordered to pay $8,920 in restitution.

According to prosecutors, here are the fire stations that were targeted:

• Alpharetta Fire Stations 81 and 86

• Bartow County Fire Station 13

• Cartersville Fire Station 2

• Clayton County Fire Stations 14, 8, 9

• Cobb County Fire Stations 30, 6, 23, 28

• Coweta County Fire Stations 16, 12, 5, 8

• Dawson County Fire Station 1

• Douglas County Fire Station 7

Follow The Atlanta Journal-Constitution on Facebook and Twitter.

• Forsyth County Fire Stations 10, 3, 4, 7, 1

• Gwinnett County Fire Stations 9, 21, 5, 31, 23, 15, 3

• Griffin Fire Stations 2, 1

• Henry County Fire Stations 12, 3, 9, 11, 6

• Newnan Fire Stations 2, 1

• Paulding County Fire Stations 9, 10

• Peachtree City Fire Station 82

• Rockdale County Fire Stations 6, 7

• Roswell Fire Stations 6, 2

• Smyrna Fire Stations 1, 5, 3, 4,

• Social Circle Fire Department

• Spalding County Fire Station 1

• Walton County Fire Station 2

In other news...