03/02/2020 — Sandy Springs, Georgia — Stickers are available for early voters during the presidential primary election at Sandy Springs library, Monday, March 2, 2020. (ALYSSA POINTER/ALYSSA.POINTER@AJC.COM)
Photo: Alyssa Pointer
Photo: Alyssa Pointer

DeKalb County 2020: Who’s running for local office, state legislature

A long list of candidates signed up last week to run for local and state offices representing DeKalb County.

DeKalb candidates who qualified to compete in May’s party primaries or other nonpartisan races are listed below.

The list includes contested races only. In many key DeKalb offices – including CEO, district attorney, commission and school board districts and several seats in the state legislature – incumbents were the only candidates to qualify and will not have re-election opposition.

PREVIOUS COVERAGE: Democrats seek to challenge DeKalb’s lone Republican commissioner

PREVIOUS COVERAGE: Why DeKalb’s CEO chose to skip the Senate race and seek re-election

Board of Commissioners, District 1

Republican: Nancy Jester (i)

Democrat: Breeanna Bellinger; MD Naser; Robert Patrick; Ben Truman; Cynthia Yaxon

Board of Commissioners, Super District 6

Democrat: Maryam Ahmad; Emily Halevy: Ted Terry


Republican: Harold Dennis

Democrat: Geraldine Champion; Adam Gardner; Ted Golden; Antonio “Block” Johnson; Kyle “KK” Jones; Melody Maddox (i); Carl Mobley; Ruth “The Truth” Stringer

Tax commissioner

Democrat: Irvin Johnson (i); Roslyn Allison McCaskill

Board of Education, District 1 (non-partisan)

Anna Hill; Andrew Ziffer

Board of Education, District 3 (non-partisan)

Kevin Alexander; David Manuel; Willie R. Mosley Jr.; Deirdre Pierce

Board of Education, District 5 (non-partisan)

Delores H. Brinkley; Zehline Davis; Willie Heard Jr.; Vickie B. Turner


Senate District 10

Democrat: Emanuel Jones (i); Maurice Raeford

Senate District 40

Republican: Gary Guan

Democrat: Sally Harrell (i)

Senate District 41

Republican: William Park Freeman

Democrat: Gil Freeman; Mohammed Jahangir Hossain; Kim Jackson; Beverly R. Jones; Sabrina McKenzie

Senate District 43

Republican: Melanie WIlliams

Democrat: Tonya P. Anderson (i)

Senate District 44

Republican: Benjamin Brooks

Democrat: Gail Davenport (i); Myah Johnson

House of Representatives, District 79

Republican: Andrea Johnson

Democrat: Mike Wilensky (i)

House of Representatives, District 80

Republican: Alan Cole

Democrat: Matthew Wilson (i)

House of Representatives, District 83

Democrat: Becky Evans (i); Audrey Maloof

House of Representatives, District 84

Democrat: Harmel “Mel” Codi; Renitta Shannon (i)

House of Representatives, District 86

Democrat: Ladena Bolton; Michele Henson (i); Zulma Lopez; Joscelyn C. O’Neil

House of Representatives, District 89

Democrat: Bee Nguyen (i); Marcia Ridley

House of Representatives, District 90

Democrat: Greg Shealey; Pam Stephenson (i); Stan Watson

House of Representatives, District 91

Democrat: Vernon Jones (i); Rhonda S. Taylor

House of Representatives, District 93

Republican: Hubert Owens Jr.

Democrat: Dar’Shun Kendrick (i); Alfred Reynolds

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.