18 Cobb County schools students have been awarded college-sponsored National Merit Scholarships. (AJC file photo)
Photo: For the AJC
Photo: For the AJC

18 Cobb students awarded National Merit Scholarships

Several Cobb students were named college-sponsored National Merit Scholarship recipients for 2019, the Cobb County School District said.

Sponsor colleges chose their winners from finalists in the program. Each scholarship provides between $500 and $2,000 each year up to four years of study at the college or university financing the award.  

Scholarship winners are among roughly 7,600 high school students who will be awarded National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million. In May six Cobb students were named winners of the corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship and another 14 won the National Merit $2,500 Scholarship. 

Another round of scholars will be announced in July, which will bring the total of 2019 college-sponsored scholarship recipients to about 4,100.

Cobb students who are college-sponsored National Merit Scholarship winners are: 

•Avery R. Bradley, Campbell High School

•Tylar P. Gregg, Kennesaw Mountain High School

•Lily H. Kim, Kennesaw Mountain High School

•Joshua R. Vollbracht, Kennesaw Mountain High School

•Carter Brent, Johnson Lassiter High School

•Delia K. Pung, Lassiter High School

•Griffin W. Haarbauer, Pope High School

•Maya Nambiar, Pope High School

•Thomas DeBoer, Walton High School

•Ava Sophia Edmunds, Walton High School

•Emma Allison Hunt, Walton High School

•Anika Park, Walton High School

•David Phillips, Walton High School

•Varsha Ramachandra, Walton High School

•Illahi S. Virani, Walton High School

•Andrew J. Mayne, Wheeler High School

•Rebecca G. Simonson, Wheeler High School

•Hanna E. Waltz, Wheeler High School

Like Cobb County News Now on Facebook | Follow us on Twitter

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.