Lawmakers named to settle cityhood maps

Five members of the Georgia House of Representatives were named Wednesday to draw boundaries for the potential cities of Tucker and LaVista Hills.

The panel, made up of three Republicans and two Democrats, will be tasked with creating a compromise map for the Georgia General Assembly’s consideration next year.

House Governmental Affairs Committee Chairwoman Amy Carter said she formed the group because pro-cityhood groups failed to result in a unified map.

“I am following through on the pledge to appoint a five-person subcommittee of state house members to draw a map for the proposed DeKalb cities after stakeholders couldn’t come to an agreement on their own,” said Carter, R-Valdosta, in a statement. “This bi-partisan group of Governmental Affairs Committee members will convene a meeting, gather input, draw a map and complete this effort by Dec. 31.”

The subcommittee’s members are Rep. Buzz Brockway, R-Lawrenceville; Rep. Barry Fleming, R-Harlem; Rep. Mark Hamilton, R-Cumming; Rep. Howard Mosby, D-Atlanta; and Rep. Mary Margaret Oliver, D-Decatur.

Their only task is to produce a map decided by a majority vote. That map would then be considered during the regular legislative session, which begins in January.

Tucker and LaVista Hills both are seeking some of the same land, including valuable commercial real estate surrounding Northlake Mall near Interstate 285.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.