All-region basketball: Johnson, Hayes named players of year in 6-AAAAA

Kiana Johnson of Lithia Springs and JaQuavius Hayes of Maynard Jackson are the Region 6-AAAAA basketball players of the year.

Johnson, who has signed with Jacksonville State, is her school’s all-time leading girls scorer and is averaging about 21.0 points per game as a senior.

Hayes is averaging over 20 points and 12 rebounds for Jackson’s boys.

Here are the all-region teams as selected by the coaches in the region.


Player of the Year: Kiana Johnson, Lithia Springs

1st Team

Taylor Jones, Decatur

Cierrah Perdue, North Springs

Tiamaya Butler, Maynard Jackson

Shamia Johnson, Banneker

Dominique Bank, Maynard Jackson

2nd Team

Jamia Brewer, Carver

Lyric Johnson, North Springs

Olivia Stephenson, Decatur

Angel Jackson, Carver

Missy Sinkfield, Grady


Player of the Year: JaQuavius Hayes, Maynard Jackson

1st Team

JaQuavius Hayes, Maynard Jackson

Marquavius Carter, Maynard Jackson

Elijah Jenkins, Riverwood

Ceaute Zachery, Lithia Springs

Vinicius Viana, North Springs

2nd Team

Devonta Brittian, Grady

Grant Showell, North Springs

Terrill Hall, Decatur

Patrick Hudson, Carver

Josh Brown, Riverwood