Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield collected three major trophies Thursday night at the College Football Awards show in Atlanta.

He won the Maxwell Award as college football’s player of the year and the Davey O’Brien Award as the nation’s best quarterback. And prior to the show, he was announced as the winner of the Walter Camp player-of-the-year award.

Next stop for Mayfield: New York, where he is the favorite to win the Heisman Trophy on Saturday.

“It’s obviously very special,” Mayfield said of his awards haul. “To put one over the other – even just being here is special enough for me.”

Mayfield, a senior, hopes to return to Atlanta with his team for the national championship game at Mercedes-Benz Stadium on Jan. 8. But that depends on what happens against Georgia in a playoff semifinal in the Rose Bowl on New Year’s Day.

Alabama defensive back Minkah Fitzpatrick was a double winner Thursday night, claiming the Jim Thorpe Award as the nation’s best defensive back and the Chuck Bednarik Award as defensive player of the year.

For the latter, Fitzpatrick beat out Georgia’s Roquan Smith and N.C. State’s Bradley Chubb.

“To be honest, I didn’t think I’d have a very good chance (to win the Bednarik Award),” said Fitzpatrick, a junior. “I was up against some great competition in Roquan and Chubb.”

The College Football Awards show was held in Atlanta for the third consecutive year after a long run at Disney World. The 27th annual show, televised live on ESPN, drew 24 of this season’s best players from across the country to the College Football Hall of Fame.

Other award winners included:

Biletnikoff Award (outstanding receiver): James Washington, Oklahoma State, senior.

Doak Walker Award (best running back): Bryce Love, Stanford, junior.

Ray Guy Award (punter of the year): Michael Dickson, Texas, junior.

Lou Groza Award (outstanding placekicker): Matt Gay, Utah, junior.

Outland Trophy (most outstanding interior lineman): Ed Oliver, Houston, sophomore.