Gainesville, Lumpkin Co., Cook, Temple hire football coaches

Josh Niblett (right) was introduced as Gainesville's new football coach on Monday, Dec. 13, 2021, with his children (from left) Josh and Sky, and wife, Karon.

Credit: Gainesville High School Athletics

Credit: Gainesville High School Athletics

Josh Niblett (right) was introduced as Gainesville's new football coach on Monday, Dec. 13, 2021, with his children (from left) Josh and Sky, and wife, Karon.

Four schools announce coaching hires

Gainesville, Lumpkin County, Cook and Temple announced football coaching hires Monday.

Gainesville formally introduced Josh Niblett, who led Hoover to six Alabama state titles. Niblett’s record at Hoover was 171-26 over 14 seasons. Gainesville was 5-5 last season in Class 7A and will fall back to 6A next season.

Gainesville’s former coach, Heath Webb, landed quickly at Lumpkin County, a 3A school. Lumpkin County was 2-8 this season. Webb has been a Georgia head coach for four seasons each at Gainesville, Winder-Barrow and North Paulding.

Cook, a Class 2A school, hired Byron Slack, Colquitt County’s defensive line coach. Slack was Hillgrove’s coach in 2020, when his team finished 4-5. Slack previously was on staffs at Lowndes and Camden County. Cook was 5-6 this season under Jamie Rodgers.

Temple, a 2A school, hired Central of Carrollton defensive coordinator Cory Nix to replace Scotty Ward, who retired. Nix had been a head coach at Gordon Central in 2017 and 2018, where his teams were 5-15 after going 0-10 the season prior. A Cherokee County native, Nix has been on staffs at Villa Rica, Roswell, Woodstock, Sequoyah and Chamblee. Temple was 1-7 this season.

Below are reported openings since the end of the 2021 regular season. Coaches that have been hired as replacements are listed in parentheses. There have been 38 among GHSA schools, including Seckinger, a new Gwinnett County school scheduled to open in 2022.

ACE Charter: Sam Zanders (Keith Hatcher)

Adairsville: Eric Bishop

B.E.S.T. Academy: Joshua Moore

Bacon County: Keith Gosse

Berkmar: Willie Gary

Brookstone: Blair Harrison

Colquitt County: Justin Rogers

Cook: Jamie Rodgers (Byron Slack)

East Paulding: Billy Shackelford

Gainesville: Heath Webb (Josh Niblett)

Greene County: Larry Milligan

Heritage (Conyers): Eddie Snell

Houston County: Ryan Crawford

Jasper County: Aaron Pitts

Kell: Brett Sloan (Bobby May)

Lanier: David Willingham

Locust Grove: Mark Miller

Lumpkin County: Caleb Sorrell (Heath Webb)

*Mount de Sales: Keith Hatcher

McIntosh: Lee Belknap

Midtown: Kevin Clark

Mundy’s Mill: Dwayne Davis

Ola: Ryan Angel

Pace Academy: Chris Slade

Paulding County: Van Spence

Ridgeland: Kip Klein

Seckinger: New school

South Paulding: Eric Robinson

*Stratford Academy: Mark Farriba

Sumter County: Ross Couch

Taylor County: Robert Yevak

Temple: Scott Ward (Cory Nix)

Thomas County Central: Ashley Henderson (Justin Rogers)

Washington County: Joel Ingram

Wayne County: Ken Cribb

Westlake: Bobby May

White County: Tim Cokely

Woodland (Cartersville): Tony Plott

*Moving to Georgia Independent School Association

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.