Todd Stansbury, right, listens to Georgia Tech President Bud Peterson speak during a news conference in which he is introduced Stansbury as the new athletic director at the school, Thursday, Sept. 22, 2016, in Atlanta. Stansbury had served as Oregon State's athletic director since June 2015 and is a former Georgia Tech football player and 1984 alumnus. (AP Photo/John Amis)
Photo: Mark Bradley/Mark Bradley blog
Photo: Mark Bradley/Mark Bradley blog

Georgia Tech AD Todd Stansbury to join playoff selection committee

Georgia Tech athletic director Todd Stansbury will serve on the College Football Playoff selection committee, executive director of the College Football Playoff announced Wednesday.  

Stansbury, the ACC’s nomination, will be one of six new members to join the 13-member committee tasked with choosing the four-best teams in the country for this year’s College Football Playoff.

The six new members including Stansbury, sports columnist Paola Boivin, Oklahoma athletic director Joe Castiglione, former coach Ken Hatfield, former USC football player Ronnie Lott and Florida athletic director Scott Stricklin will serve three-year terms.

The Atlanta Journal-Constitution reported in October that it was a possibility Stansbury could serve on the CFP committee when Stansbury confirmed he had been asked by ACC commissioner John Swofford if he wanted to serve on the committee.

“I think it’d be an incredible honor,” Stansbury told the AJC.

In a news release from the ACC on Wednesday, Swofford said: “Todd is an outstanding addition to the College Football Playoff Selection Committee. He is nationally respected and brings decades of knowledge to the committee as both a player and an administrator. I know his experience, professionalism, and integrity will serve the committee well.”

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.