Georgia Tech’s Calvin Johnson entering College Football Hall of Fame

Georgia Tech's Calvin Johnson (21) remains one of the most successful wide receivers in school history.

Credit: Bob Andres

Credit: Bob Andres

Georgia Tech legend Calvin Johnson was selected for induction to the College Football Hall of Fame.

Johnson joins a Hall of Fame class that includes nine first-team All-American players -- including Georgia offensive tackle Matt Stinchcomb -- and three standout coaches.

Johnson will become the 19th former Yellow Jacket to join the College Football Hall of Fame when the Class of 2018 is inducted at the annual National Football Foundation Awards Dinner on Dec. 4, 2018, at the New York Hilton Midtown.

Johnson also will be recognized with a Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute during a Tech home football game in the coming season.

Johnson was a three-time all-ACC honoree and two-time first-team all-American during his three-year Georgia Tech career. He remains the only three-time all-conference performer and one of only six two-time first-team all-Americans in the 125-year history of Tech football.

In 2004-06, he caught 178 passes for 2,927 yards and 28 touchdowns in three seasons as a Yellow Jacket and still holds six school records – receiving yards in a career and season (1,202 in 2006), touchdown receptions in a career and season (15 in 2006) and 100-yard receiving games in a career (13) and season (seven in 2006).

He was inducted to the Georgia Tech Sports Hall of Fame in 2016.

The second pick in the 1999 NFL Draft, Johnson spent nine seasons with the Detroit Lions before retiring in 2015. A six-time Pro Bowl selection, he led the NFL in receiving yards (2011-12) twice and holds the NFL record for most single-season receiving yards (1,964 in 2012).



Trevor Cobb, RB, Rice (1989-92)
Kerry Collins, QB, Penn State (1991-94)
Dave Dickerson, QB, Montana (1992-95)
Dana Howard, LB, Illinois (1991-94)
Calvin Johnson, WR, Georgia Tech (2004-06)
Paul Palmer, RB, Temple (1983-86)
Ed Reed, DB, Miami [Fla.] (1998-2001)
Matt Stinchcomb, OT, Georgia (1995-98)
Aaron Taylor, C/OG, Nebraska (1994-97)
Charles Woodson, DB, Michigan (1995-97)


Frank Beamer: 280-144-4; Murray State (1981-86), Virginia Tech (1987-2015)
Mack Brown: 244-122-1; Appalachian State (1983), Tulane (1985-87), North Carolina (1988-97), Texas (1998-2013) 
Mel Tjeerdsma: 242-82-4 (74.4%); Austin College [Texas] (1984-93), Northwest Missouri State (1994-2010)

In Other News