Lillard wins Magic Johnson Award, Millsap a finalist

Damian Lillard of the Trail Blazers won the 2016-17 Magic Johnson Award given by the Professional Basketball Writers Association it was announced Tuesday. The award honors the player who best combines excellence on the basketball court with cooperation and dignity in dealing with the media and the public.

Paul Millsap of the Hawks was a finalist. Millsap was also awarded the Good Guy Award by the Atlanta chapter of the PBWA for his cooperation with the media this year.

The other finalists for the Magic Johnson Award were DeMar DeRozan of the Raptors, Paul George of the Pacers and Draymond Green of the Warriors.

Members of the PBWA selected the winner through a vote. The PBWA is composed of over 200 writers and editors who cover the NBA on a regular basis for newspapers, online outlets and magazines.

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Most read

  1. 1 Kemp holds steady lead, Abrams considers longshot legal challenge
  2. 2 Atlanta mother has been searching 40 years for abducted son
  3. 3 Former council member’s $137k City Hall job violated Atlanta cha

More from AJC