Braves Dansby Swansonand (left) and Rafael Ortega celebrate scoring the go-ahead runs against the St. Louis Cardinals during the ninth inning of Game 3 of the Division Series Oct. 6, 2019, at Busch Stadium in St. Louis.
Photo: Scott Kane/Getty Images
Photo: Scott Kane/Getty Images

STAT: Braves’ final-out rally in Game 3 matched historic franchise feat

The Braves scored all three of their NLDS Game 3 runs with two outs in the ninth inning, marking the second time in Atlanta postseason history the team won a game after being down to its final out.

Atlanta’s first such win came in Game 7 of the 1992 Championship Series against Pittsburgh —  the play is otherwise known in Braves lore as “The Slide.”

That’s when backup catcher Francisco Cabrera’s line drive over Pirates shortstop Jay Bell scored David Justice and Sid Bream and sent the Braves to a World Series on Oct. 14, 1992, at Atlanta-Fulton County Stadium.

Dansby Swanson on Sunday matched Cabrera and two other Braves as the only Atlanta players to collect a game-tying or go-ahead hit in the postseason with the Braves down to their final out. 

The last to do so was Luis Polonia in Game 3 of the 1995 NLDS against Colorado.

The other was Otis Nixon, who tied Game 6 of the 1992 World Series with a run-scoring single to left field against Tom Henke.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.