Georgia’s state Capitol will see 42 new members of the House and Senate this year. BOB ANDRES / BANDRES@AJC.COM
Photo: The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Photo: The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

The AJC’s legislative team

The Atlanta Journal-Constitution will have the largest group of journalists at the Capitol during the 2019 legislative session, providing expertise that can’t be found anywhere else. Here’s a look at the team:

Bob Andres joined the AJC in 1998. He has held photography and photo editing positions in Georgia, California and Florida. He will produce photos and videos from the Capitol during the legislative session. You can reach him at bob.andres@ajc.com.

Greg Bluestein covers the governor’s office and state politics. He joined the AJC in June 2012 after spending seven years in the Atlanta bureau of The Associated Press, where he covered a range of beats that included politics and legal affairs. He also contributes to the AJC’s Political Insider blog. This is his 15th legislative session and his seventh with the AJC. You can reach him at greg.bluestein@ajc.com.

Jim Denery has worked at nine newspapers, mostly in the South, over the past 36 years. His primary duties during the session will be editing stories and writing the Capitol Recap, a summary of some of the biggest stories of the week from the General Assembly, with a dash of odd ones thrown in. You can reach him at jim.denery@ajc.com.

Jim Galloway has been an editor and writer for the AJC since 1979. He is currently its political columnist and was the creator of its politics blog, Political Insider. jim.galloway@ajc.com

Ariel Hart covers health care policy during the session and beyond. She has been at the AJC since 2005. ariel.hart@ajc.com

Mark Niesse covers the Georgia House of Representatives and has been a reporter for the AJC for six years. He’ll report on rural Georgia, medical marijuana, voting machines and “religious liberty.” mark.niesse@ajc.com

Susan Potter is the senior editor of the AJC’s State Government and Politics Team and has led political coverage for more than a decade. You can reach her at susan.potter@ajc.com

Maya T. Prabhu covers the Senate during the legislative session, along with other aspects of state government and Georgia politics. Among the issues she will focus on are gun laws and gambling. maya.prabhu@ajc.com

Isaac Sabetai is an audience specialist who analyzes data, creates interactives and handles social media. He has been at the AJC for 11 years and is from Florida. isaac.sabetai@ajc.com

James Salzer is the assistant senior editor for the State Government and Politics Team. He has covered Georgia politics and state government since 1990, including five years on the AJC’s Investigative Team. He specializes in stories about state spending, taxes, campaign finance and ethics. james.salzer@ajc.com

Ty Tagami has covered government, politics, crime and, now, schools for the AJC. He’ll follow legislation affecting k-12 and higher education. ty.tagami@ajc.com

David Wickert will cover transportation issues during the legislative session. He joined the AJC in 2010 and has also covered local government in Fulton and Gwinnett counties. david.wickert@ajc.com

Tamar Hallerman is the AJC’s Washington correspondent. She is based in the nation’s capital but works closely with reporters covering state government and the Legislature on federal issues that affect the state. She can be reached at tamar.hallerman@ajc.com.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

X