The water level at Lake Lanier has risen after winter rains.

Top drought restriction lifted for metro Atlanta

Limits on outdoor water use during the heat of the day are still in place

Due to winter rainfall, 12 metro Atlanta and North Georgia counties are out from under the Level 1 drought restriction.

The state Environmental Protection Division said Thursday that Cobb, Coweta, DeKalb, Douglas, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Habersham, Hall, Lumpkin, Paulding and White counties now are under a non-drought outdoor water-use schedule.

“As expected, winter rains have refilled Lake Lanier, which serves as an important water supply for much of metro Atlanta,” EPD Director Richard Dunn said.

This means all of Georgia is under the same water-use rules. The Level 1 restriction was left in place since last fall for metro Atlanta to help the lake recover, Dunn said.

Current water use limits: The non-drought condition allows all types of outdoor water use but limits landscape watering to before 10 a.m. and after 4 p.m. daily. This is to limit evaporation during the warmest part of the day.

LEARN MORE: State of Georgia outdoor water restrictions rules for lawns, washing cars, other outdoor uses

MORE: Atlanta public safety news

In other news:

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.