Cobb school board elects new members in special session

The Cobb County school board Sunday elected Alison Bartlett as the new chairwoman in a special meeting at the district's headquarters. Newly elected board member Scott Sweeney was selected vice chairman. Both choices were unanimous 4-0 votes, with three members-- Lynnda Crowder Eagle, David Morgan and David Banks -- absent. The board's next scheduled meeting is Wednesday.