Clayton County Water Authority earns industry awards

Clayton County Water Authority employees brought home several awards from the Georgia Association of Water Professional’s recent Spring Conference.

CCWA’s Northeast Water Reclamation Facility was named the 2018 Wastewater Plant of the Year for the Advanced Treatment 6 – 9.9 Million Gallons per Day category for its performance during 2017. The W.J. Hooper Water Treatment Plant earned a Certificate of Achievement for Best Operated Water Plant in the Surface Water 15 MGD to 49.99 MGD category. CCWA’s Stormwater Maintenance Foreman Marcus McLester was named Stormwater Top Operator for the state, and Distribution & Conveyance Department Manager Jeff Jones was inducted into the inaugural Golden Hydrant Society.

In addition, all three water production plants earned Platinum Awards for 100 percent permit compliance in 2017:

J.W. Smith Water Production Plant - 9 years Platinum

Terry R. Hicks Water Production Plant - 17 years Platinum

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Most read

  1. 1 The Jolt: Johnny Isakson worries shutdown could threaten Super Bowl
  2. 2 Atlanta corruption and Katrina Taylor-Parks' personal pain | Torpy
  3. 3 Kemp unveils $69M school safety plan, new gang crackdown

W.J. Hooper Plant - 20 years Platinum

All three water reclamation facilities earned Platinum Awards for 100 percent compliance in 2017:

Northeast WRF – 9 years Platinum

W.B. Casey Water Resource Recovery Facility – 13 years Platinum

Shoal Creek WRF – 21 years Platinum

The formal Wastewater Plant of the Year competition program is conducted statewide by GAWP and includes a comprehensive on-site evaluation performed by an expert technical inspection team. All of the systems under review possessed examples of exceptional operation, but only a select few rise to the top during this exhaustive process.

CCWA competed against other award-winning systems within metro Atlanta and the state for the awards.

More from AJC