APS Superintendent Dr. Meria Carstarphen and students at Boyd Elementary School at 2210 Perry Blvd NW in Atlanta on Thursday, Dec. 15, 2016.

Atlanta Public Schools to see 11 principal changes this year

Along with a new start date, the Atlanta Public Schools’ 2017-18 school year will see nearly a dozen institutions welcome new principals.

APS includes 92 schools and programs, according to a back-to-school guide. The system has a projected K-12 enrollment of 51,927 for this school year.

Here are the new principals:

Boyd Elementary School: Joi Kilpatrick

Fickett Elementary School: Benita Grant

Finch Elementary School: Forrestella Taylor

Parkside Elementary School: Timmy Foster

Perkerson Elementary School: Tony Ford

Rivers Elementary School: John Waller

Usher-Collier Heights Elementary School: Jerry Parker

John Lewis Invictus Academy: Gregory Parks

Inman Middle School: Kevin Maxwell

Maynard Jackson High School: Adam Danser 

Grady High School: Elizabeth Bockman

MORE: Newly relocated high school ready to open its downtown Atlanta doors 

MORE: 66-year-old Spelman College dorm to undergo renovations this summer

In addition to new principals, the system will welcome a new middle school: John Lewis Invictus Academy. It is located in the former BEST Academy facility and will begin this school year with a sixth grade class only. 

Like Intown Atlanta News Now on Facebook | Follow us on Twitter

In other school news:

The first day of class for metro Atlanta schools really has gotten earlier. Cobb County students go back to school July 31. Atlanta's first day is Aug. 1. DeKalb, Fulton and Gwinnett start Aug. 7.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

Related Stories