Incumbents win Clayton sheriff, DA and commission chair races

Incumbents will return to the top three offices in Clayton County.

Apparently happy with their work, voters Tuesday re-elected Commission Chairman Jeff Turner, District Attorney Tracy Graham Lawson and Sheriff Victor Hill.

“This was an incumbent’s race,” Pat Pullar, a political consultant who tracks southside politics. “In every primary there’s a low turnout. About the same or a few more came out for this primary because there were a few hotly-contested races.”

Business owner Felecia Franklin Warner, 41, will face Eric Bell, a 24-year-old educator and military veteran, in a July 26 runoff for the District 3 commission seat.

"I wasn't surprised by the people who won. I was surprised by the people who lost," Pullar said. For example, Hill,who goes on trial next month for accidentally shooting a woman in Gwinnett last year, handily defeated his four challengers Tuesday. Hill's victim, Gwenevere McCord, endorsed Hill in his re-election bid.

The judges’ races drew two runoffs: Attorney Robert Mack will face former Solicitor General Leslie Miller Terry for Superior Court. Commissioner Shana Rooks also is in a runoff with former District Attorney Jewel Scott for a Superior Court seat.

“The challengers spent a lot of money on yard signs and campaign literature,” Pullar noted “But you can’t win an election solely with yard signs. You’ve got to engage new voters. The incumbent has a base.”