Emory, Georgia State, KSU canceling classes Thursday

Georgia Tech, Atlanta University Center among those opening late Thursday



Some metro Atlanta colleges and universities are canceling classes Thursday, due to continued severe weather conditions.

Georgia State, Kennesaw State University, Agnes Scott College, Georgia Piedmont Technical College and Georgia Gwinnett College will be closed Thursday.

Emory University, including Oxford College, will also be closed, officials announced.

The closing applies only to the university, officials said. Emory Healthcare employees should refer to its intranet and emails from Emory Healthcare for information on operations and procedures.

Some campuses have scheduled later openings Thursday. Georgia Tech will open at noon. The Atlanta University Center campuses - Clark Atlanta University, Morehouse College, Morehouse School of Medicine, Morris Brown College and Spelman College - will open at noon, a Clark Atlanta spokeswoman said Wednesday evening.

The University of North Georgia is delaying opening of all but its Dahlonega campus until 11 a.m. Thursday. The Dahlonega campus will have normal operations, the university’s website says.

Mercer University’s Atlanta campus and Henry and Douglas County Regional Academic Centers will open at noon Thursday. The Macon campus will resume its normal operating and class schedule.

Every major college in the region cancelled classes Wednesday because of the snow and icy road conditions.