Emory gets $65 million donation for new health facility

The entrance to Emory University’s campus. HYOSUB SHIN / HSHIN@AJC.COM

The entrance to Emory University’s campus. HYOSUB SHIN / HSHIN@AJC.COM

Emory University has received a big check - $65 million that will be used to build a third Rollins School of Public Health building on its campus, officials announced Wednesday.

The donation is from the O. Wayne Rollins Foundation, which has funded two facilities at Emory that house six academic departments, over 20 centers and 200 faculty members. The new building will increase the number of classrooms and faculty offices and will include distance learning space, Emory said in a news release.

“This new investment is a gift for the future that will have worldwide reach,” said Emory University President Claire E. Sterk. “It will propel the faculty, staff and students of the Rollins School of Public Health to new levels of leadership and service for the greater good.”

The foundation actively supports programs in Emory University’s School of Medicine, Winship Cancer Institute and Candler School of Theology.

In January 2018, Emory received its largest gift ever, $400 million from the Robert W. Woodruff Foundation for medical research.

Here are some other major donations to some Atlanta-area colleges and universities:

December 2018 - Ronda Stryker and her husband, William Johnston gave $30 million to Spelman College, the largest donation ever received by the school.

November 2018 - Georgia Southern University has received its largest donation ever, $5 million from local business leader Gregory M. Parker.

May 2018 - Clark Atlanta University received its largest donation ever, $1 million, from Kenya and Rainbow Barris. They both graduated from the school.

April 2018 - A.D. “Pete” Correll and his wife, Ada Lee, both University of Georgia graduates, gave the school $5 million to start a scholarship for students with significant financial need.

March 2018 - Georgia Tech received $15 million from the Clark Foundation for its College of Engineering.