U.S. Department of Education honors eight Georgia schools

Eight public schools and one private school in Georgia were honored as as 2013 National Blue Ribbon Schools by the U.S. Department of Education.

The schools were honored for high academic achievement and for success in closing performance gaps between different groups of students.

Daves Creek Elementary in Forsyth County, Marietta Center for Advanced Academics in Marietta City, Tritt Elementary and Fair Oaks Elementary in Cobb County, Mountain Park Elementary in Fulton County, Middle Ridge Elementary in Newton County, Sugar Hill Elementary in Hall County and Webster County High in Webster County were the eight public schools honored.

St. Catherine of Sienna Catholic School in Kennesaw was the private school honored.

Representatives of the schools will travel to Washington, D.C., on Nov. 19 for an awards ceremony.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.