Marshall Orson

DeKalb Board of Education elects Orson, longtime member, as chair

Longtime DeKalb County Board of Education member Marshall Orson has been elected chairman of the DeKalb County School District’s school board.

Orson, first elected to the school board in 2012, was elected by the school board during the board’s monthly scheduled meeting. He served as vice-chairman beginning in 2018.

He replaces outgoing chairman Michael Erwin, who served as board chairman from 2018 until Monday.

Vickie B. Turner

Vickie B. Turner, elected vice-chairwoman on Monday, succeeds Orson. Turner was first elected to the board in 2014.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.