Fifty-four Georgia students are on their way to college with a little help thanks to scholarships from Comcast NBCUniversal.
Photo: HANDOUT/Associated Press
Photo: HANDOUT/Associated Press

Metro Atlanta students get scholarship help

Comcast NBCUniversal awarded nearly $60,000 in scholarships to 54 metro Atlanta students as part of its annual Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program.

Each student will receive a one-time $1,000 scholarship to high school seniors for their community service, academic performance and leadership skills.

“I am very proud of these bright, focused and inspirational young people who represent our State so well,” said state Rep. Katie Dempsey, R-Rome. “Thank you, Comcast, for recognizing their accomplishments and for your generous financial support to help them succeed in college.” 

One student, Emma Sawyer, of Suwannee and student at North Gwinnett High School, received a $5,000 Comcast Founders Scholarship. 

The 2018-19 Atlanta Winners: 

Emanuel McMillan, Sandy Creek High School 

Jalani Brown, Shiloh High School 

Omar Roberts, Marietta High School 

Skylar Bass, Mays High School 

Ross Bryant, Dominion Christian High School 

Linda Ngo, Morrow High School 

Alexandria Chargois ,South Gwinnett High 

Nia Anderson, Charles R. Drew Charter School 

Richard Nwakamma, Arabia Mountain High School 

Rena Clowers, Stephenson High 

Adah-Lashay, Dawson McNair High School 

Barnabas White, Lovett School 

Nathaniel Buck, Heritage High School 

Zaharia Selman, Rockdale Magnet School for Science and Technology 

Chancelor Mitchell, Cedar Grove High 

Amari Cash, Atlanta Girls’ School 

Rory Starkey, Hapeville Charter Career Academy 

Olivia Phillips, Alexander High School 

Nia Nicole Wedlowe, Lovejoy High School 

Trinity Johnson, Grayson High School 

Emma Rogers ,Armuchee High School 

Sophia Videlefsky, The Weber School 

Amy Guzman-Reye,s Rome High School 

Emma Sawye,r North Gwinnett 

Jasmine Chrisp, Mount Paran Christian School 

Kseniya Spikina, Wheeler High School 

Antonio Rios, Gordon Central High School 

Kate Phillipp, Whitewater High School (Fayette County) 

Elissa Gibson, Our Lady of Mercy Catholic High School 

Madison Yost, McIntosh High School 

Jessica Stevens, Stevens Home School 

Madison Reddic, Norcross High 

Anuhya Tadepalli, Milton High School 

Emily Costello, Cherokee Highschool 

Demorius Taylor, Holy Spirit Preparatory School 

David Wright, South Cobb High School 

Madeline Fox, Sonoraville High School (Gordon County) 

Josiane Ngandu, Clarkston High Scool 

Desmond Dunson, Rockdale County Highschool 

Alexys Phenix, Chapel Hill High School 

Madison Martin, Starr’s Mill High 

Summer Lindsey, East hall High School 

Udisha Bhattacharyya, Chattahoochee High School 

Tarah Celestin, Mundy’s Mill High School 

Katherine Fadus, Harrison High School 

Dasha King, Lithonia High 

Selitha Haudey, Pebblebrook High School 

Perla Vargas, McEachern High School 

Lauren Seroyer, Peachtree Ridge High 

Katie Bishop, Etowah High School 

Colton Clanton, Woodstock High School 

Asia Hemphill, Lithia Springs Highschool 

Midjina Richard, Towers High School 

Jacque Penn, Mt.Zion High School 

“We are honored to recognize their achievements and excited to support them as they continue their educational journeys,” said Doug Guthrie, Comcast Regional Senior Vice President.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.