NFL to recognize schools that produced Super Bowl players, coaches

The NFL this season will recognize nearly 100 Georgia high schools that produced 131 alumni who were players or head coaches in the Super Bowl.

That's especially exciting for Griffin High, which ranks tied for second nationally with six alumni who played in Super Bowls. They are Charlie Clemons, Chris Clemons, Jessie Tuggle, Freddie Gilbert, Ben Talley and Willie Gault.

Each school can apply for football grants of up to $5,000 and will receive a commemorative golden football, delivered to the school by a player or coach when possible. One of the Georgia players, McNair alumnus Robert Mathis of the Indianapolis Colts, will be featured on CBS's "This Morning" during his visit to his alma mater.

Some notable former Georgia high school players who played or coached in Super Bowls are Fran Tarkenton (Athens), Hines Ward (Forest Park), Richard Dent (Crim), Kevin Butler (Redan), George Rogers (Duluth), Jamal Lewis (Douglass) and Dan Reeves (Americus). For schools that no longer exist, the player or coach can designate another school.

Player/coach High school Super Bowl team
Bart Oates Albany Giants (XXI, XXV), 49ers (XXIX)
Dan Reeves Americus Cowboys (V, VI), Broncos (XXI, XXII, XXIV), Falcons (XXXIII)
Kent Hill Americus Rams (XIV)
Leonard Pope Americus-Sumter Cardinals (XLIII)
Dexter Carter Appling County 49ers (XXIX)
Frank Pitts Archer (Atlanta) Chiefs (I, IV)
Fran Tarkenton Athens Vikings (VIII, IX, XI)
James Butler Bainbridge Giants (XLII)
Earnest Byner Baldwin Redskins (XXVI)
Leroy Hill Baldwin Seahawks (XL)
Nick Harper Baldwin Colts (XLI)
Julius Adams Ballard-Hudson Patriots (XX)
Roy Simmons Beach Redskins (XVIII)
Chris Mohr Briarwood Academy Bills (XXVI, XXVII, XXVIII)
Mack Strong Brookstone Seahawks (XL)
Jason Elam Brookwood Broncos (XXXII, XXXIII)
Carlton Williamson Brown 49ers (XVI, XIX)
Carlos Rogers Butler 49ers (XLVII)
Bill Stanfill Cairo Dolphins (VI, VII, VIII)
Bobby Walden Cairo Steelers (IX, X)
Demarcus Dobbs Calvary Day Seahawks (XLIX)
Nate Odomes Carver (Columbus) Bills (XXV, XXVI, XXVII, XXVIII)
Brenston Buckner Carver (Columbus) Steelers (XXX), Panthers (XXXVIII)
Roderick Hood Carver (Columbus) Eagles (XXXIX), Cardinals (XLIII)
Steve Wallace Chamblee 49ers (XXIII, XXIV, XXIX)
Champ Bailey Charlton County Broncos (XLVIII)
Willie Green Clarke Central Broncos (XXXII, XXXIII)
Chuck Smith Clarke Central Falcons (XXXIII)
John Kasay Clarke Central Panthers (XXXVIII)
Bill Curry College Park Packers (I), Colts (III, V)
Antonio Edwards Colquitt County Falcons (XXXIII)
Larry Brown Crim Titans (XXXIV)
Richard Dent Crim Bears (XX)
Donald Lester Dougherty Redskins (XVII)
Jamal Lewis Douglass Ravens (XXXV)
Jeff Saturday Shamrock Colts (XLI)
George Rogers Duluth Redskins (XXII)
Harris Barton Dunwoody 49ers (XXIII, XXIV, XXIX)
Bucky Dilts Dykes Broncos (XII)
Chris Hanson East Coweta Patriots (XLII)
Keith Brooking East Coweta Falcons (XXXIII)
Dusty Zeigler Effingham County Giants (XXXV)
Rayfield Wright Fairmont Cowboys (V, VI, X, XII, XIII)
Hines Ward Forest Park Steelers (XL, XLIII, XLV)
Troy Jones Franklin County Broncos (XXXII, XXXIII)
John Davis Gilmer Bills (XXV, XXVII, XXVIII)
Chuck Evans Glenn Hills Ravens (XXXV)
Shannon Sharpe Glennville Broncos (XXXII, XXXIII, XXXV)
Freddie Gilbert Griffin Broncos (XXI, XXII)
Ben Talley Griffin Falcons (XXXIII)
Charlie Clemons Griffin Rams (XXXIV)
Chris Clemons Griffin Seahawks (XLVIII)
Jessie Tuggle Griffin Falcons (XXXIII)
Willie Gault Griffin Bears (XX)
Robert Steele Hardaway Cowboys (XIII)
Harold McLinton Harper Redskins (VII)
Herb Mul-key Harper Redskins (VII)
James Carpenter Hephzibah Seahawks (XLVIII, XLIX)
Ben Patrick Jenkins Cardinals (XLIII)
Chester Wills Johnson (Gainesville) Raiders (XVIII)
Mike Wilson Johnson (Gainesville) Bengals (XVI)
George Atkinson Johnson (Savannah) Raiders (XI)
Emmanuel McDaniel Jonesboro Giants (XXXV)
Chuck Hurston Jordan Chiefs (I, IV)
Deon Grant Josey Panthers (XXXVIII), Giants (XLVI)
Tyrone Poole LaGrange Patriots (XXXVIII)
Wesley Woodyard LaGrange Broncos (XLVIII)
Richard Conn Lakeside (Atlanta) Steelers (IX)
Emerson Boozer Laney Jets (III)
J.T. Thomas Lanier (Macon) Steelers (IX, X, XIV)
Barney Bussey Lincoln County Bengals (XXIII)
Jarius Wynn Lincoln County Packers (XLV)
Carl Parker Lowndes Bengals (XXIII)
Mel Blount Lyons Industrial Steelers (IX, X, XIII, XIV)
Bill Mathis Manchester Jets (III)
Patrick Mannelly Marist Bears (XLI)
Robert Mathis McNair Colts (XLI, XLIV)
Don Griffin Mitchell-Baker 49ers (XXIII, XXIV)
Deion Branch Monroe Patriots (XXXVIII, XXXIX, XLVI)
Ricardo Lockette Monroe Seahawks (XLVIII, XLIX)
Andre Hastings Morrow Steelers (XXX)
Drew Hill Newnan Rams (XIV)
Larry Grant Norcross 49ers (XLVII)
Kyle Love North Clayton Patriots (XLVI)
Sam Wyche North Fulton Redskins (VII), Bengals (XXIII)
Verron Haynes North Springs Steelers (XL)
Jon Stinchcomb Parkview Saints (XLIV)
Matt Stinchcomb Parkview Raiders (XXXVII)
Greg Lloyd Peach County Steelers (XXX)
Ken Ellis Ralph Bunche Rams (XIV)
Chris Gardocki Redan Steelers (XL)
Kevin Butler Redan Bears (XX)
Terance Mathis Redan Falcons (XXXIII)
Ken Whisenhunt Richmond Academy Cardinals (XLIII)
Dainon Sidney Riverdale Titans (XXXIV)
D.J. Ware Rockmart Giants (XLVI)
Chris Reis Roswell Saints (XLIV)
Leonard Barker Roswell Bengals (XXIII)
Leroy Harris Savannah Eagles (XV)
Phillip Wheeler Shaw Colts (XLIV)
Greg Favors Southside Titans (XXXIV), Panthers (XXXVIII)
Reggie Wilkes Southwest (Atlanta) Eagles (XV)
Hason Graham Southwest DeKalb Patriots (XXXI)
Randy Fuller Spencer Steelers (XXX, Falcons (XXXIII)
Gary Downs Spencer Falcons (XXXIII)
Otis Sistrunk Spencer Raiders (XI)
DeAngelo Tyson Statesboro Ravens (XLVII)
Jeremy Mincey Statesboro Broncos (XLVIII)
Bruce Irvin Stockbridge Seahawks (XLVIII, XLIX)
Le Kevin Smith Stratford Academy Patriots (XLII)
William Judson Sylvan Dolphins (XVII, XIX)
Danny Copeland Thomas Co. Central Redskins (XXVI)
Myron Guyton Thomas Co. Central Giants (XXV)
Guy McIntyre Thomasville 49ers (XIX, XXIII, XXIV)
Ray Guy Thomson Raiders (XI, XV, XVIII)
Hubert Ginn Tompkins Dolphins (VI, VII, XI)
Nick Eason Toombs County Steelers (XLIII, XLV)
Patrick Pass Tucker Patriots (XXXVI, XXXVIII, XXXIX)
John McMakin Tucker Steelers (IX)
Ben Thomas Turner County Patriots (XX)
Willie Gary Valdosta Rams (XXXVI)
Fred Stokes Vidalia Redskins (XXVI)
James Brooks Warner Robins Bengals (XXIII)
Len Hauss Wayne County Redskins (VII)
Chad Hall Wesleyan 49ers (XLVII)
Damaryius Thomas West Laurens Broncos (XLVIII)
Keyaron Fox Westlake Steelers (XLIII, XLV)
Anthony Mitchell Westlake Ravens (XXXV)
Keith Adams Westlake Eagles (XXXIX)
Bobby Bryant Willingham Vikngs (VIII, XI)
Bruce Miller Woodstock 49ers (XLVII)

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

About the Author