WEATHER ALERT: Schools, offices delay openings Tuesday due to possibility of black ice

Metro Atlanta is not quite done with the winter weather.

According to Channel 2 Action News meteorologist Brad Nitz, a few snow flurries are possible overnight when temperatures dip into the low 30s. When Atlanta wakes up Tuesday, it could lead to black ice on the roadways.


“Black ice will be a concern in spots tonight as temperatures will drop below freezing across much of metro Atlanta, especially north of I-20,” he said.

RELATED: NW Express Lanes, I-75 South Metro Express Lanes to close over black ice possibility

As a precaution, Gov. Nathan Deal announced Monday afternoon that all state government buildings and offices will delay opening until 10 a.m.

Later Monday, the City of Atlanta followed suit and will open at 10 a.m.


Cobb County and Acworth will delay some government operations until 9 a.m., while Clayton County government offices will delay opening until 9:30 a.m. Canton, Chamblee, Cherokee County, College Park, DeKalb County, Doraville, Dunwoody, East Point, Fulton County, Henry County, Johns Creek, McDonough, Roswell, Smyrna, South Fulton and Union City will delay opening until 10 a.m. Alpharetta government operations will also delay opening until 10:30 a.m.


The University of Georgia, Emory, Georgia Tech, Georgia State, Kennesaw State, Clark Atlanta, Morehouse, Mercer's Atlanta campus, Reinhardt and Spelman announced that they will all delay opening until 10 a.m. Georgia Gwinnett College will be on a two-hour delay.

Two-hour delays will be in effect for several metro Atlanta school districts: Atlanta Public, Buford City, Clayton County, Cobb County, Decatur City, DeKalb County, Fulton County, Gwinnett County and Marietta City.

Others on two-hour delays include: Barrow County, Bartow County, Butts County, Calhoun City, Carroll County, Carrollton City, Cherokee County, Coweta County, Douglas County, Fannin County, Fayette County, Forsyth County, Gainesville City, Gilmer County, Gordon County, Hall County, Haralson County, Henry County, Jackson County, Madison County, Meriwether County, Newton County, Oglethorpe County, Paulding County, Polk County, Rockdale County, Union County and Walton County. Chattooga County will have a three-hour delay.

Banks County, Dawson County, Floyd County, Habersham County, Pickens County, Rabun County, Rome City and Whitfield County have canceled classes Tuesday.


Patches of black ice are likely where roadways stay wet overnight, especially bridges and overpasses, Nitz said. After a rainy Monday, Nitz said humidity will stay above 90 percent overnight, meaning the roads won’t have a chance to dry out.

MORE: Black ice: What Georgia drivers need to know to stay safe


Secondary or untreated roadways as well as sidewalks, porches or decks are also common spots for black ice to develop, according to the National Weather Service. Commuters are urged to use caution and plan accordingly, as black ice is sometimes difficult to see and makes roads dangerously slick.


—Please return to for updates.

» For a detailed forecast, visit The Atlanta Journal-Constitution weather page.

» Download The Atlanta Journal-Constitution app for weather alerts on-the-go.

In other news: