LSU’s Burrow wins Heisman Trophy; Justin Fields is third

LSU quarterback Joe Burrow poses for a photo after winning the Heisman Trophy, Saturday, Dec. 14, 2019, in New York. (AP Photo/Jason Szenes)

Credit: Jason Szenes

Credit: Jason Szenes

LSU quarterback Joe Burrow won the Heisman Trophy Saturday night.

Former Georgia quarterback Justin Fields, now leading unbeaten Ohio State, finished third. Fields played at Harrison High School, then one season for the Bulldogs before transferring to the Buckeyes.

Oklahoma quarterback Jalen Hurts was second and Ohio State defensive end Chase Young finished fourth.

Burrow won in a record landslide vote, becoming the first LSU player to bring college football's most prestigious award back to Baton Rouge in 60 years.

Burrow received 2,608 points and 841 first-place votes, a record 90.7 percent of all the first-place votes available. Hurts was second with 762 points.

Finalists for the 85th annual Heisman Memorial Trophy, quarterback Joe Burrow of the LSU Tigers, quarterback Justin Fields of the Ohio State Buckeyes, quarterback Jalen Hurts of the Oklahoma Sooners and defensive end Chase Young of the Ohio State Buckeyes. (Photo by Adam Hunger/Getty Images)

Credit: Adam Hunger

Credit: Adam Hunger

Burrow transferred last year to LSU from Ohio State, where he was a sparingly used reserve. After finishing strong for the Tigers in 2018, he broke out this season, setting a Southeastern Conference record with 48 touchdown passes and leading top-ranked LSU to its first College Football Playoff appearance. The Tigers will face No. 4 Oklahoma and Hurts on Dec. 28 at the Peach Bowl in Atlanta.

“All my teammates have supported me, welcomed me with open arms. Kid from Ohio, come down the Bayou and welcomed me as brothers,” Burrow said in his acceptance speech.

In Other News