Atlanta Falcons tight end Tony Gonzalez reacts after scoring a touchdown against the Carolina Panthers in the first half of an NFL football game at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta Sunday, Jan. 2, 2011. (AP Photo/Dave Martin)
Photo: Rodney Ho/Radio and TV Talk
Photo: Rodney Ho/Radio and TV Talk

Gonzalez, Dickerson among former Falcons nominated for College Football Hall of Fame

Six of the 176 players listed on the ballot for the College Football Hall of Fame spent a portion of the NFL careers with the Atlanta Falcons.

The 2019 ballot released Monday by the National Football Foundation (NFF) and College Hall of Fame included former SMU running back Eric Dickerson, who played the final season of his Pro Football Hall of Fame career with the Falcons in 1993, and former Cal tight end Tony Gonzalez, who had 409 catches in five seasons with the Falcons from 2009-13.

» More: Former Panthers top pick Tyrone Poole on ballot

Others with Falcons ties on the ballot include former Texas Tech running back Byron Hanspard, former Miss. Valley defensive back Ashley Ambrose, former Illinois defensive lineman Moe Gardner and former Pitt running back Craig “Ironhead” Heyward.

The finalists for the 2019 class will be announced in January as part of festivities surrounding the College Football Playoff National Championship and the class will be inducted Dec. 10, 2019, at the 62nd NFF Annual Awards Dinner in New York.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.