Here’s a look at the number of wins in the first three seasons for the last five Georgia Bulldogs coaches.

State of SEC coaching is stable ... for now

For the first time since 2006, the SEC enters the college football season without a coaching change.

It’s a rare moment of football stability in college football’s toughest conference, following a year that saw five changes in leadership.

Here’s a look at the state of the conference:


Dan Mullen, Florida: In Mullen’s first season in Gainesville, the Gators finished with a 10-3 record and a Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl win

Kirby Smart, Georgia: The Bulldogs have gone 32-10 in three seasons under Smart. They won the SEC title in 2017 before losing to Alabama in the national championship game. Georgia suffered another loss to the Crimson Tide in last year's SEC title game

Mark Stoops, Kentucky: The Wildcats went 10-3 last year, recording their first New Year’s bowl win in more than seven decades. Stoops is 36-39 entering his seventh year in Lexington.

Barry Odom, Missouri: Odom is 19-19 in three seasons since replacing Gary Pinkel. The Tigers went 8-5 in 2018.

Will Muschamp, South Carolina: The former Georgia defensive back has led the Gamecocks since 2016. He went is 22-17, including a 7-6 finish in 2018.

Jeremy Pruitt, Tennessee: The Volunteers went 5-7 in Pruitt’s first season at Knoxville. He notched wins over ranked conference opponents Auburn and Kentucky.

Derek Mason, Vanderbilt: Mason has five years without a winning season in Nashville. His Commodores have beaten in-state rival Tennessee three straight years and finished 6-7 twice, including last year.


Nick Saban, Alabama: The SEC’s longest-tenured coach, Saban is 146-21 since 2007. His Tide teams have won six SEC championships and five national titles in 12 seasons.

Chad Morris, Arkansas: Morris’ Razorbacks went winless in the SEC in his first year, going 2-10 overall.

Gus Malzahn, Auburn: Malzahn is entering his seventh year with the Tigers, following an 8-5 season that included a 3-5 mark in the SEC. 

Ed Orgeron, LSU: Since replacing Les Miles as an interim in 2016, Orgeron’s Tigers have gone 25-9. They went 10-3 last season.

Matt Luke, Ole Miss: The Rebels went 6-6 and 5-7 in Luke’s first two years.

Joe Moorehead, Mississippi State:  Moorehead went 8-5 in his debut season in Starkville.

Jimbo Fisher, Texas A&M: The Aggies went 9-4 in Fisher’s return to the SEC last year

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.