SEC coaches will earn more than $75 million in 2020

SEC's football coaches (and their records).

All together, the SEC’s 14 coaches will collect more than $75 million in salaries in 2020.

Newly crowned national champion Ed Orgeron received a nearly $5 million raise from LSU days after defeating Clemson for the College Football Playoff National Championship.

The Tigers coach's six-year, $42 million extension boosts his $4 million paycheck in 2019 to nearly $9 million in 2020, per the Baton Rouge (La.) Advocate. The deal makes Orgeron the second-highest paid coach in the conference behind Nick Saban, who enters his 14th season in Tuscaloosa, Ala.

Georgia's Kirby Smart received a new seven-year contract in 2018. Smart's original deal paid him $3.75 million annually. The revised deal increases his pay by $500,000 a year, for an average pay of about $7 million per season. He is among the five-best paid coaches in the conference.

SEC coaches’ pay in 2020

Nick Saban, Alabama: $9.1 million <br/>• Ed Orgeron, LSU: $8.7 million <br/>• Jimbo Fisher, Texas A&M: $7.5 million <br/>• Gus Malzahn, Auburn: $6.9 million <br/>• Kirby Smart, Georgia: $6.8 million <br/>• Dan Mullen, Florida: $6.1 million <br/>• Mike Leach, Mississippi State: $5 million <br/>• Mark Stoops, Kentucky: $5 million <br/>• Lane Kiffin, Ole Miss: $3.9 million <br/>• Jeremy Pruitt, Tennessee: $3.8 million <br/>• Chad Morris, Arkansas: $3.5 million <br/>• Will Muschamp, South Carolina: $3.3 million <br/>• Derek Mason, Vanderbilt: $3.3 million* <br/>• Barry Odom, Missouri: $3.05 million

The SEC’s two newest coaches — Lane Kiffin (Ole Miss) and Mike Leach (Mississippi State) — will make more than their predecessors.

Matt Luke — now Georgia's offensive line coach — made $3.1 million coaching the 4-8 Rebels last season. Kiffin left Florida Atlantic and signed a 4 year, $16.2 million deal at Ole Miss.

Joe Moorhead went 14-12 in two seasons at Starksville, Miss. He made $3.05 million as the Bulldogs’ coach in 2019. At $5 million a year, Leach becomes the highest-paid coach at Mississippi State since Dan Mullen ($4.5 million a year) left in 2017.

An SEC team has played for the national championship in each of the last five seasons, primarily against the ACC's Clemson Tigers. Clemson's Dabo Swinney is college football's highest paid coach at more than $9.3 million a year, according to the USA Today database.


* — As a private institution, Vanderbilt does not have to reveal contract details. Mason was given an extension in February 2019. This figure was obtained by The Tennessean via university tax records for Mason’s total pay in 2017.