Heyward among Braves' top minor leaguers

Outfielder Jason Heyward leads 16 Braves minor leaguers named the organization’s players and pitchers of the year Monday. They will be honored Friday at Turner Field before the Braves-Phillies game and will be available for autographs from 6:15-7 p.m. in the Fan Plaza.

Heyward was named the Braves’ overall minor league player of the year and Craig Kimbrel was named overall pitcher of the year. Players of the year at the upper levels were Barbaro Canizares (Class AAA Gwinnett), Matt Young (Class AA Mississippi), Donell Linares (Class A Myrtle Beach) and Yoel Campusano (Class A Rome).

Pitchers of the year at the upper levels were Mariano Gomez (Gwinnett), Kyle Cofield (Mississippi), Cory Gearrin (Myrtle Beach) and J.J. Hoover (Rome).

At the rookie levels, players of the year are Riaan Spanjer-Furstenburg (Danville), Christian Bethancourt (Gulf Coast) and Edison Sanchez (Dominican). Pitchers of the year are Matt Crim (Danville), Robinson Lopez (Gulf Coast) and Andy Otero (Dominican).