Powder Springs police chief to retire Dec. 31

Powder Springs Police Chief Charlie Sewell will retire Dec. 31, and Deputy Police Chief John Robison will serve as the Interim Police Chief.

Robison was appointed by the Powder Springs City Council Monday night during a special called meeting.

In October, Sewell promoted Robison from major to deputy police chief.

Since Aug. 1, 2011, Sewell has served as the city’s police chief after coming out of his first retirement in 2006 to serve as the police chief of McMinnville, Tennessee, and, before that, the police chief of Morrow.