5 more Georgia counties eligible for federal aid

Five more Georgia counties have been designated for federal disaster assistance following last week's deadly tornadoes.

The latest counties added are Cherokee, Habersham, Newton, Upson and White, according to FEMA.

Counties previously designated for individual assistance are: Bartow, Catoosa, Coweta, Dade, Greene, Harris, Heard, Floyd, Gordon, Lamar, Lumpkin, Meriwether, Monroe, Morgan, Pickens, Polk, Rabun, Spalding, Troup and Walker.

Affected survivors and business owners in the designated counties can apply for assistance by calling FEMA's toll-free registration number at 800-621-3362. An application may also be completed online.

Fifteen people were killed in Georgia and hundreds more died across the Southeast in the April 27 storms.