Henry County School district employees honored with HERO Awards

The Henry County School System hosted its annual HERO Awards ceremony Oct. 25 and, in addition to announcing the Teacher of the Year winner, recognized employees in several other areas.

Van Cheeves in the Facilities & Maintenance department received the Service Employee HERO Award.

Darlene Campbell, a bus driver, was named the Transportation Employee award winner.

Lee Ann Hopper of New Hope Elementary received the School Nutrition Employee award.

Norma Santiago-Bell of Hampton Elementary Charter School won in the Support Personnel category.

Cristi Johnson of Locust Grove High School was the district’s Media Specialist winner.

Rebekah Ross of New Hope Elementary was named the Student Services Personnel award recipient.

Nicohl Webb of Pate’s Creek Elementary received the HERO Award in the Counselor category.

Teacher of the Year winners from each of the district’s 53 schools were also recognized. Information: www.henry.k12.ga.us.