Forsyth sets deadline for out-of-district school attendance requests

Forsyth County School District officials remind parents that the deadline is Friday, Jan. 17, to submit requests for their offspring to attend schools other than the ones they are zoned for in the 2020-21 school year.

Students with prior out-of-district approval do not need to submit a new request, as long as the original reason for the request remains the same, officials said. The Jan. 17 deadline does not apply to families moving within the county. Out-of-district families must arrange their own transportation except for students accepted at the Alliance Academy for Innovation.

Nineteen schools cannot honor out-of-district requests because they are over capacity or were redistricted to relieve overcrowding in the past three years: Brandywine, Chestatee, Coal Mountain, Daves Creek, Kelly Mill, Mashburn, Matt, Midway, Sawnee, Shiloh Point, Silver City, Vickery Creek and Whitlow elementary; and Lakeside, Liberty, North Forsyth, Otwell, Riverwatch and Vickery Creek middle.

For information on the out-of-district process: