88 high school seniors around Cobb County were named National Merit Scholarship semifinalists.
Photo: For the AJC
Photo: For the AJC

88 Cobb students named National Merit Scholarship semifinalists

Nearly 90 high school seniors in Cobb County have been named semifinalists in the 65th annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

These 88 Cobb, Marietta City and private school students are among the 16,000 students across the country who’ve earned the chance to compete for 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million set to be offered in the spring, the program said.

In all, 1.5 million juniors from about 21,000 high schools entered the National Merit program by taking the 2018 Preliminary SAT, or PSAT.

The group said the number of national semifinalists amounts to less than 1% percent of all high school seniors across the country. The number of semifinalists in a state is proportional to how many seniors graduated from that state compared to the rest of the nation.

Like Cobb County News Now on Facebook | Follow on Twitter

A semifinalist must have an “outstanding academic record throughout high school” along with a recommendation by a high school official, an essay and high SAT/ACT scores.

Nearly 90% are expected to move to the finalist round, which requires a detailed scholarship application with their academic record, participation in school/community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors/awards received. Finalists will be notified of their status in February.

Here are the Cobb County semifinalists: 

Campbell High School

Dorr-Kapczynski, Natasha 

Hong, Samantha A. 

Jaafar, Youssef 

Jaramillo Celis, Isabella 

Lin, Damon

Rowe, Eden O.

Harrison High School

Delfausse, Leah M. 

Enow, Bessem

Hillgrove High School

Montoya, Evan R.

Smith, Andrew J.

Kennesaw Mountain High School

Hester, Braden R. 

Johnson, Jayden R. 

Omoma, Sasamon B. 

Patel, Evani N. 

Regier, Elaina R.

Lassiter  High School

Froula, Eleanor B. 

Halloran, Claire M. 

Kramer, Joseph P. 

Levitt, Gabrielle P. 

Mitchell, Anna K. 

Pereira, Catherine L. 

Tegethoff, Paul H.

Marietta High School

Askins, Kailyn 

Baglivio, Oscar D. 

Goodwin, Rebecca R.

Mount Paran Christian School

Vaughan, Alison A.

North Cobb Christian School

Baek, Seungju 

Durity, Aidan R.

Pope High School

Burris, Ada R.

Harry, Sanjeet C.

Myers, Andrew M. 

Pivnik, Yelizaveta I.

Sprayberry High School

Misra, Reilly S.

The Walker School

Carruth, Karoline 

Haynes, Andrew D.

Kaczynski, Erika A.

Sheikh, Shanzeh M. 

Wetherington, Kalieann I. 

White, Lauren R.

Walton High School

Bae, Chanwoo 

Bass, Jordan 

Berger, Alec 

Cameron, Andrew 

Catanese, Daniel

Chareddy, Anjali 

Chiles, Taylor

de Cleir, Sinead

Denning, Judith 

Dierker, Julia 

Emerine, Russell

Jacobson, Reagan

Kemelmakher, Guy 

Lakdawala, Aleem 

Li, Andrew 

Lu, Viviana

Manikkoth, Nidhi

McKinley, Kara 

More, Rushil 

Newton, Russell 

Pitts, Erik 

Raja, Neeraj 

Rajan, Anant 

Rajbhandari, Pranav 

Rieck, Aaron 

Saligrama, Arvind 

Shabazaz, Tara

Simon, Eric 

Sun, Bill 

Thomas-Wilkinson, Shiloh 

Tong, Qilin

Uppalapati, Ria 

Vemana, Akshin 

Venkatesan, Tharun 

Zhang, Madeline

Zibran, Zaim

Wheeler High School

Abunyewa, Ann-Marie A. 

Alapati, Kruthik S.

Autera, Ava R. 

Bishop, Charlie E. 

Chen, Patrick G. 

Cullinan, Alessa L. 

Jewel, Rose 

Kent, Brian

Mason, Emma G. 

Nedumpurath, Pranav J. 

Payne, Jeremy L. 

Wan, Morris I. 

Yao, Eric W.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.