Students arrive for the first day of the 2018-2019 school year at Hamilton E. Holmes Elementary in East Point. BOB ANDRES /BANDRES@AJC.COM
Photo: AJC FILE PHOTO Bob Andres/
Photo: AJC FILE PHOTO Bob Andres/

School starts today for 4 metro Atlanta districts 

Summer break is over for students in four metro Atlanta school districts. 

Children in DeKalb, Gwinnett, Clayton and Fayette public schools will report today for the first day of school. 

>> Back to School: Security upgrades lessen fears in metro Atlanta

Districts around metro Atlanta have taken a staggered approach this year to scheduling the first day of school for the 2019-2020 year. Cobb and Henry school districts were among those who returned to class last week.

Students in Atlanta Public Schools and Fulton County Schools go back to school on Aug. 12.